Original Articles In Eight Popular Categories

► Home Solar-Electric Systems

► Solar-Electric System Profiles

► Home Wind-Electric Systems

► Microhydro-Electric Systems

► Solar Home Design & Efficiency

► Green Building

► Domestic Solar Hot Water Systems

To order, visit homepower.com/subscribe or call 800-707-6585 or 541-512-0201

All CD-ROM contents are provided in Adobe PDF (Portable Document Format). Adobe Reader software required—free at adobe.com.

A&C Green Energy, www.acgreenenergy.com 135

AAA Solar Supply, www.aaasolar.com 125

ABS Alaskan Inc., www.absak.com 135

AEE Solar, www.aeesolar.com 19

APRS World LLC, www.winddatalogger.com 135

Abraham Solar, www.abrahamsolar.com 125

Alternative Energy Store, www.altenergystore.com 61

Alternative Power & Machine, www.apmhydro.com 134

Apollo Solar, www.apollo-solar.net 90

Apricus Solar Co. Ltd., www.apricus.com 101

Aten Solar Corp., www.atensolar.com 110

BZ Products, www.bzproducts.net 131, 135

BackHome Magazine, www.backhomemagazine.com 122

Backwoods Solar Electric Systems, www.backwoodssolar.com 109

Barn World, www.barnworld.com 134

Blue Oak PV Products, www.blueoakenergy.com 110

Blue Sky Energy Inc., www.blueskyenergyinc.com 101

Bogart Engineering, www.bogartengineering.com 111

Brand Electronics, www.brandelectronics.com 99

Butler Sun Solutions, www.butlersunsolutions.com 130

C Crane Co., www.ccrane.com 135

Colorado Solar Inc., www.cosolar.com 131

Concorde Battery Corp., www.concordebattery.com 23

Conergy Inc., www.conergy.us 2, 3

DC Power Systems Inc., www.dcpower-systems.com 63

Day4 Energy, www.day4energy.com 115

Direct Power and Water Corp., www.power-fab.com 99

Electric Auto Association, www.eaaev.org 136, 142

Electro Automotive, www.electroauto.com 134

Electron Connection, www.electronconnection.com 92

Energy Conservation Services, www.ecs-solar.com 126

Energy Systems & Design, www.microhydropower.com 127

Energy Wise Solutions, www.energywisesolutions.net 134

Exeltech, www.exeltech.com 100

Fronius USA LLC, www.fronius-usa.com 12, 13

Fullriver Battery USA, www.fullriverdcbattery.com 25

Gorilla Electric Vehicles, www.gorillavehicles.com 135

Green World Biofuels, www.greenworldbiofuels.com 136

GridPoint Inc., www.gridpoint.com 28

GroSolar, www.grosolar.com 39

Harris Hydro, 707-986-7771 131

Heat Transfer, www.htproducts.com 29

Home Energy Diet, www.spectacletech.com 119

Home Power 20-Year DVD-ROM, www.homepower.com/20years 93

Home Power Subscription Special, www.homepower.com/subscribe ...142

Hydrocap Corp., 305-696-2504 126

Hydroscreen Co. LLC, www.hydroscreen.com 131

IRenew Energy Expo., www.irenew.org 118

Inverter Service Co., www.directpower.com 122

Jan Watercraft Products, www.janwp.com 141

Jayhawk Suntech Solar, www.jayhawk-int.com 118

Kaco Solar Inc., www.kacosolar.com 4, 5

Kvazar, www.kvazar.com 108

Liberty Enterprises Inc., www.iloveebikes.com 142

Lorentz GMBH & Co. KG, www.lorentzpumps.com 62

MK Battery, www.mkbattery.com 55

Magnum Energy, www.magnumenergy.com 81

Midnite Solar Inc., www.midnitesolar.com 80

Midwest Renewable Energy Assoc., www.the-mrea.org 127

Mike's Windmill Shop, www.mikeswindmillshop.com 131

Morningstar Corp., www.morningstarcorp.com 68

N. Am. Board of Cert. Energy Practitioners, www.nabcep.org 119, 123

Natural Power Products, www.npp.ca 118

New Society Publishers, www.newsociety.com 141

Northern Arizona Wind & Sun, www.solar-electric.com 123

Northwest Energy Storage, www.solaronebatteries.com 26

OtherPower, www.otherpower.com 134

OutBack Power Systems, www.outbackpower.com 8, 9

PV Powered LLC, www.pvpowered.com 79

Phocos USA, www.phocos.com 27

Power Battery Company Inc., www.powerbattery.com 100

RAE Storage Battery Co., 860-828-6007 141

RJE Solar IBPS, www.rjesolar.com 137

Radiant Solar Technology, www.radiantsolartech.com 137

Rheem Water Heaters, www.solahart.com 38

RightHand Engineering, www.righthandeng.com 137

SMA America Inc., www.sma-america.com 10, 11

San Juan College, www.sanjuancollege.edu/reng 122

Sanyo Energy USA Corp., www.sanyo.com BC

Schuco USA LP, www.schuco-usa.com 87

Silicon Solar, www.siliconsolar.com 60

Simmons Natural Bodycare, www.simmonsnaturals.com 137

Solar Converters Inc., www.solarconverters.com 115

Solar Depot Inc., www.solardepot.com IFC

Solar Energy International, www.solarenergy.org 114, 130

Solar Home Inc., www.solarhome.com 109

Solar Pathfinder, www.solarpathfinder.com 24

Solar Stik, www.solarstik.com 119

Solar Wind Works, www.solarwindworks.com 127

SolarWorld California, www.solarworld-usa.com 17

Solectria Renewables, www.solren.com 123

Solmetric Corp., www.solmetric.com 110

Southwest Solar, www.southwest-solar.com 141

Southwest Windpower, www.windenergy.com 15

Steca GmbH, www.stecasolar.com 133

Stiebel Eltron Inc., www.stiebel-eltron-usa.com 69

Sun Frost, www.sunfrost.com 130

Sun Pipe Co. Inc., www.sunpipe.com 122

Sun Pumps Inc., www.sunpumps.com 45

Sun Spot Solar, www.sssolar.com 99, 119

SunDanzer, www.sundanzer.com 129

SunEarth, www.sunearthinc.com 126

SunWize, www.sunwize.com 21

Suntech Power Co. Ltd, www.suntech-power.com 91

Surrette Battery Company Ltd, www.rollsbattery.com IBC

Thermomax, www.solarthermal.com 132

Trojan Battery Co., www.trojanbattery.com 49

U.S. Battery, www.usbattery.com 111

UniRac Inc., www.unirac.com 37

Viessmann Manufacturing Co. U.S. Inc., www.viessmann-us.com 47

Wattsun (Array Technologies Inc.), www.wattsun.com 123

Wholesale Solar, www.wholesalesolar.com 46

Windstream Power LLC, www.windstreampower.com 142

Xantrex, www.xantrex.com 1

Zephyr Industries Inc., www.zephyrvent.com 142

Zomeworks Corp., www.zomeworks.com 115

For easy online access to advertisers, visit www.homepower.com/advertisers

People

Who: Bill & Debbi Lord Where: Cape Porpoise, Maine When: 1995 to present

What: Solar-electric & solar hot water systems Why: Social & environmental responsibility

Over the years, Bill Lord has turned up in Home Power's pages several times. In 1997, we first covered his crusade for sensible net metering in Maine. Two years later, Bill and his wife Debbi's home graced the cover of HP70.

According to Bill, the Home Power cover story put their home "on the publicity map." Since then, the Lords have had numerous articles written about their "Maine Solar House," and television coverage has included spots on HGTV, The History Channel, and, most recently, Nova.

With 31 years at ABC News as an executive producer of Nightline and World News Tonight, Bill is no stranger to the powerful influence of mass media. Now a journalism professor at Boston University, he merges his professional expertise with his environmental convictions, providing information about renewable energy through a personal Web site (www. solarhouse.com). Here, visitors can learn about the home's solar energy systems, listen to Bill's solar podcasts, and even participate in an online solar forum.

"When we constructed our home, the issue of treading lightly on the environment was uppermost in our minds," says Bill, "though my wife suspected that the gizmos in the basement— inverters, pumps, and controllers—had a certain attraction to my male mind."

Despite its high-tech bent, the Lords' very normal-looking, contemporary-styled saltbox home has all the amenities and conveniences of a typical American home. "We basically live like everybody else,'' Debbi says, ''but the sun is providing our energy.''

Solar thermal collectors, which provide water and space heating, cover half of the Lords' south-facing roof. The other half harvests the sun's free energy for electricity: The 4,200-watt PV array generates approximately 4 megawatt-hours annually, completely meeting the home's electrical needs. Bill says that their utility bill—a $7.47 monthly connection fee for being hooked up to the grid—is "a pleasure to pay."

Even during Maine's legendary winters, the home shines. Passive solar design and the solar thermal system keep the home warm. Bill reports that

Debbi & Bin Lord, solar pioneers.

"interior temperatures rise above 75°F if a window isn't kept open. Our feet are greeted in the morning by the welcoming warmth of our radiant floor."

"There is a free lunch and dinner with solar energy, as long as you can afford the breakfast," says Bill. The up-front costs are "not to be scoffed at, but they are an investment in a lifestyle that is personally rewarding, financially beneficial in the long run, and socially necessary. Do join the solar generation. It is worth the effort."

—Ian Woofenden

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment